Fund for the Arts’ NeXt! Ambassador Program


NeXt! is a nationally recognized program dedicated to preparing the next generation of emerging professionals for volunteer leadership roles within the arts community. Participants will embark on an immersive, 9-month journey experiencing all aspects of cultural engagement.

(Application Below)

Throughout the program, NeXt! Ambassadors network with high profile community leaders, experience professional development programming focused on volunteer leadership, take on rewarding arts-focused projects that have a real impact on arts organizations, enjoy world-class art events, learn where their talents are most needed, and become a defining voice in the future of the arts.

Participants are all up and coming community leaders, from a diverse range of backgrounds and professions, with a passion and interest in the arts.

One of the highlights of the NeXt program is to partner with selected local nonprofit organizations, with an emphasis on arts and culture, through hands-on teamwork and consultation. NeXt project consultations span an array of areas, but will most often fall into the categories of collaborative initiatives, audience development, program implementation, business operations, marketing, and communications, and philanthropy. NeXt ambassadors will experience the inner-workings of nonprofit organizations and use their skills to help advance local organizations’ needs. With the current climate and challenge of COVID-19, projects will not be geared towards large in-person events or festivals and will be set up with the expectation to be adaptable and fluid during these times.


To learn more about the NeXt Nonprofit Consultation Project, click here


Program sponsored by


NeXt Ambassador Program Overview

Program dates:

  • October 2020-June 2021

Time Commitment:

  • Participate in monthly program days every third Thursday of the month between October 2020- June 2021
  • Program days run from 12:30-5:00 PM
  • Networking happy hours are offered after each monthly program day from 5:00-6:00PM
  • Additional time outside of program days to be spent on nonprofit consultation projects. Each Ambassador will be placed in teams of 4-5 individuals to work on nonprofit consultation projects and will be responsible for setting their own schedule for their project work.


  • Due to our current climate and challenge with COVID-19, we are setting the expectations for ambassadors and nonprofits to be adaptable and fluid with the possibility of change
  • Meeting in-person for program days every third Thursday from October -June will be a priority, however, if needed, program learning days will be held virtually
  • This year, the Fund has decided to only select 20 ambassadors to allow for safe in-person gatherings
  • Further safety precautions for in-person gatherings will be introduced to the ambassadors upon acceptance

Program Fee:

  • $600 for the 9-month program experience
  • If accepted, Fund for the Arts will follow-up with an invoice via email

 Application Deadline & Acceptance

  • Deadline to apply: August 28, 2020
  • Acceptances issued: Week of September 14, 2020


Applications for the NeXt! Ambassador program are currently closed and will open in Summer 2021. Contact Nicole Humphrey at for more information or questions.