Watch Now to Learn More 

The Allan Cowen Innovation Fund for Advancement of the Arts fosters creative intellectual exploration in the pursuit of arts leadership and organizational evolution. Established through a generous gift by the Bertram Klein Family, the award is given annually in honor of Allan Cowen’s 37 years of service to the arts.

The Innovation Fund provides funding for Greater Louisville arts administrators and artists to pursue professional development opportunities which will allow them to explore innovative ideas, further develop their skills, and advance the arts community long-term.

Who is eligible?

  • Arts leaders in Greater Louisville ( Kentucky counties of Jefferson, Shelby, Oldham, Spencer, and Bullitt, and Indiana counties of Clark and Floyd).
  • Only individuals may apply, not organizations or a group of artists or arts administrators.
  • The intent of the award is to support an individual’s professional growth and is not meant to support the development or expansion of an organization’s project.

Previous winners:

  • 2017: Andrew Kipe and Teddy Abrams, Louisville Orchestra
  • 2016: Lindy Casebier, Louisville Visual Art Executive Director
  • 2015: Matt Wallace, Kentucky Shakespeare Producing Artistic Director
  • 2014: Alison Huff, Commonwealth Theatre Center Managing Director

Application Details

The application window is currently closed.

Please contact Christa Iwu, Impact Coordinator at the Fund for the Arts, with any questions:

P | 502.882.8695

E |


Our initiative fulfills the following priorities: