The William Tolbert Whittenberg Scholarship for Performing Arts Excellence was established in 1987 to enable gifted students with limited financial support to pursue advanced study in the performing arts.

The amount of the award is up to $5,000 and is a non-renewable scholarship opportunity.

Applications are due April 7, 2017 by Midnight.

Application Instructions Apply Now

2016 First Prize Winner: Ruth Sangster


  • City of Residence: Simpsonville, KY
  • High School Attended: Martha Layne Collins High School
  • College Attending: University of Kentucky (rising freshman)
  • Arts Discipline: Vocal, Opera
  • Number of Years of Study: 3 (has studied under Elizabeth Huling and Louisville Youth Choir)

2016 Second Prize Winner: Emma Pfitzer-Price


  • City of Residence: Louisville, KY
  • High School Attended: DuPont Manual/Youth Performing Arts School
  • College Attending: The Julliard School (rising freshman)
  • Arts Discipline: Theatre
  • Number of Years of Study: 10 (has studied at Commonwealth Theatre Center – formerly Walden Theatre/Blue Apple Players)